Posted by: cmtalbert | September 13, 2008

Quick Update

KFDM Channel 6 in Beaumont is going to do a comprehensive update this evening (9/13) at 9PM CDT.  I’ll take some notes and post them here, but if you have the ability read this you should probably be watching the news 🙂

You can watch it at http://www.kfdm.com/ .

I talked to my folks, and they say it seems the water in Bridge City is dropping, it’s gone down about eight feet (horizontally) from where the highest water mark was.  I hope this is a good sign.  The sooner the water is out, the sooner help can arrive.  I’ll talk to you at 9PM CDT. (7PM PDT, 8PM MDT, 10PM EDT).

Advertisements

Responses

  1. Thanks for the pics and info, Clint. Any word about mom and dad’s area? They evacuated to Waxahachie, but haven’t heard specifics. We are thankfull your parents’ place is ok!

  2. Mandy,

    I don’t know anything for certain about your mom and dad’s place. I’ll ask my parents about it in the morning because I think Dad went by there earlier today.

    However, from what I know of that land, your mom and dad are very close to Corrin’s new house. Corrin’s new house had six-seven feet of water in it when the flood peaked.

    The land between those two places is more of a thicket than a forest. There is a small creek, really a small ditch, that runs through it and drains the low lying area around Rosehurst Drive just north of there. If I recall (and I haven’t been there in years) the sides of that creek are elevated, maybe two to three feet off the level of Charlotte and Bernice lanes. But, if the waters peaked at six feet, then there is a good chance that the water got into your parents place too.

    I don’t think they would have had six feet of water in their place, per se, maybe only one to three feet, but that will still cause a lot of damage. I’ll see if my dad can head over there tomorrow and find out for you.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: